About Us
Contact Us
Advertise on www.odishanow.in
Contribute Articles
Your Voice!
Photo Gallery
Opinion Poll
Print Story   Email Story

Govt issues notification to form special development council


 State government has issued notification for establishment of special development councils in nine tribal dominated districts in the State.

The notification to form these councils in Mayurbhanj, Sundargarh, Keonjhar, Kandhamal, Gajapati, Rayagada, Koraput, Malkangiri and Nabarangpur was issued yesterday.

According to sources, conservation and propagation of tribal culture, tradition and practices, identification of tribal resources and promotion of tribal language and dialects are some of the key objectives of these bodies.

The headquarters of each of the special development council will be at the district headquarters. Besides, each council will have a chairperson belonging to the tribal community who will be given status of a minister of state, the sources said.

Notably, with an aim to uplift the economic condition of tribals as well as provide quality education to them in Odisha while keeping their unique identity intact, the State Cabinet had approved the councils on July 27.

Announcing the Cabinet’s decision during a meeting at the State Secretariat here Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had said, “The councils will have decision making powers and financial resources to preserve, promote and develop unique socio-cultural identities and economic capacities of tribals in the state.”

The government has targeted to spend Rs 175.5 crore annually for tribals of the State through these development councils in which representatives of 62 tribal groups will be members. Each block in the nine districts will get an allocation of Rs 1.5 crore every year.

The State has 62 distinct scheduled tribes of which 13 are particularly vulnerable tribal groups (PVTGs). The tribals constitute 22% of the State’s population.

EDITOR : Bijoy Ketan Mishra
All content copyright odishanow.in
Website powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.