Tuesday, August 4, 2020
 Jeypore police plan to implement STV scheme for better traffic control  Puri Jagannath Temple ‘pandas’ to visit shrines for tips on hygiene, good conduct  

YATS’ 11th edition launched in State capital

 The 11th edition of the Young Astronomer Talent Search (YATS), an annual competition organised for the school children of Odisha to create awareness on space science and astronomy, was launched today by State Minister of School and Mass Education and Science and Technology Badri Narayan Patra at the State Secretariat.

The theme for this year’s YATS is ‘India’s contribution to space science’.  Unveiling the information docket on YATS 2017-18, Patra said, “I commend Pathani Samanta Planetarium for organising such a unique initiative to promote science and spread awareness on Pathani Samanta. Science and Technology is a key tool to bringing about exponential development in the society and initiatives like YATS are an excellent platform to foster and build scientific temper among students across the state.”

YATS promotes the contribution of Samanta Chandra Sekhar Harichandan Mahapatra who is popularly known as Pathani Samanta, the legendary astronomer of Odisha in the field of astronomy. It seeks to identify and promote the talent of high school students in the field of space science by providing platforms to express and test their knowledge. The format of the competition comprises an essay competition for students of standards IX-X and an open quiz on space science for students of standard VII-VIII.

The theme has been decided to celebrate the strides India has made especially recently in the areas of space science and astronomy. Indian is making an impact globally in this field and there has been a renewed vigor that this area is witnessing in current times. The essay topics are derived from the theme.

The top two winners from each participating district will be invited the Grand Finale to be held on December 12-13, 2017 at Pathani Samanta Planetarium in Bhubaneswar. During this event, top 20 winners of YATS 2017-18 will be selected after a final round of evaluation and felicitated on the occasion. Later in May 2018 they will be taken on an exposure visit to one of the facilities of ISRO.

Secretary, Department of Science and Technology VV Yadav and Director of Pathani Samanta Planetarium Kailash Chandra Sahoo were among those present on the occasion.



Précis 2017
From asking his party men to ‘live a simple life and serve the people’ to taunting the BJP for its ‘crocodile tears’, Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik has not only become politically invincible, he seems to be so in the coming years too.


* India successfully test-fires supersonic interceptor missile


* Support for terrorism to be stopped: India at UN


* Dalmia DSP launches new TV campaign


* Sudhir Mishra's 'Daasdev' set to arrive on February 16


* “Nalco to invest Rs 35,000 cr in Odisha, good governance key to company’s success”


* Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Literary Meet from Jan 11
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.