Tuesday, June 2, 2020
 Jeypore police plan to implement STV scheme for better traffic control  Puri Jagannath Temple ‘pandas’ to visit shrines for tips on hygiene, good conduct  

BJD moves motion of notice for election of OLA Speaker

 Ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) today moved a motion of notice for the election to the post of Speaker of the Odisha Legislative Assembly.

The motion of notice was moved before the Assembly Secretary A K Sarangi.

The BJD named former minister Pradip Kumar Amat as its candidate for the Speaker's post. Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik proposed the name of Amat which was seconded by Parliamentary Affairs minister Bikram Keshari Arukha.
Amat also filed his nomination before the Assembly Secretary in this regard.
The Speaker's post was lying vacant after Niranjan Pujari resigned from the post. Pujari was inducted in the council of ministers headed by Naveen Patnaik.
Amat had also resigned from the ministry on May 6 as the state Finance Minister ahead of Patnaik reshuffling his ministry on May 7.
The election for the post of Speaker is scheduled to be held at 3 pm on Tuesday.


Précis 2017
From asking his party men to ‘live a simple life and serve the people’ to taunting the BJP for its ‘crocodile tears’, Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik has not only become politically invincible, he seems to be so in the coming years too.


* India successfully test-fires supersonic interceptor missile


* Support for terrorism to be stopped: India at UN


* Dalmia DSP launches new TV campaign


* Sudhir Mishra's 'Daasdev' set to arrive on February 16


* “Nalco to invest Rs 35,000 cr in Odisha, good governance key to company’s success”


* Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Literary Meet from Jan 11
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.