Tuesday, June 2, 2020
 Jeypore police plan to implement STV scheme for better traffic control  Puri Jagannath Temple ‘pandas’ to visit shrines for tips on hygiene, good conduct  

Nomination for RS seat begins with EC notification

 The Election Commission today issued notification for the nomination for the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Odisha.

          "We have pasted the EC notification in our notice board. Nomination for the lone Rajya Sabha seat will continue till May 15. District Collectors have also been told to display the notification in their offices," Odisha Assembly Secretary Amiya Kumar Sarangi said.

          Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on May 16 and candidates can withdraw their papers by May 18.
          In case of more than one candidate, voting would take place on May 25, Sarangi said adding that counting of votes would begin on the same day at 5 PM.
          The Rajya Sabha election in Odisha is required after Bishnu Charan Das of BJD resigned from the Upper House of the Parliament on March 21 following his appointment as Deputy Chairman of Odisha State Planning Board.
          Keeping in view the number of MLAs, ruling BJD's candidate is likely to get elected to the RS seat.
          Though the ruling BJD has so far not named anyone as the party candidate for the election, several names like Pratap Deb, Raghunath Mohanty, Bhupinder Singh and Bimbadhar Kuanr are doing the rounds.


Précis 2017
From asking his party men to ‘live a simple life and serve the people’ to taunting the BJP for its ‘crocodile tears’, Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik has not only become politically invincible, he seems to be so in the coming years too.


* India successfully test-fires supersonic interceptor missile


* Support for terrorism to be stopped: India at UN


* Dalmia DSP launches new TV campaign


* Sudhir Mishra's 'Daasdev' set to arrive on February 16


* “Nalco to invest Rs 35,000 cr in Odisha, good governance key to company’s success”


* Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Literary Meet from Jan 11
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.