Friday, June 5, 2020
 Jeypore police plan to implement STV scheme for better traffic control  Puri Jagannath Temple ‘pandas’ to visit shrines for tips on hygiene, good conduct  

18 districts go unrepresented in Naveen's new ministry

<p>&nbsp;18 districts go unrepresented in Naveen's new ministry</p> <div>&nbsp;</div> <div>&nbsp;</div> <div>Bhubaneswar, May 7</div> <div>Eighteen of the 30 districts of Odisha remain unrepresented in the government after today's reshuffle carried out by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik, while his home turf Ganjam has the highest number of four &nbsp;ministers.</div> <div>&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;The district which are not represented in the council</div> <div>of ministers are Jajpur, Kendrapara, Kandhamal, Kalahandi, Gajapati, Sundergarh, Sambalpur, Nuapada, Rayagada, Mayurbhanj, Malkangiri, Koraput, Boudh, Nayagarh, Jharsuguda, Deogarh, and Bolangir.</div> <div>&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;The two tribal dominated districts, Mayurbhanj and</div> <div>Kalahandi, where opposition BJP performed exceptionally well in the recent panchayat polls, also remained unrepresented in the ministry.</div> <div>Pushpendra Singhdeo had been the lone minister from Kalahandi and he was told to resign yesterday.</div> <div>&nbsp;Similarly, Sudam Marndi from Mayurbhanj was dropped from the ministry and nobody replaced him in the ministry.</div> <div>&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;Jajpur and Kendrapara districts, known as BJD's fort,</div> <div>also remained unrepresented in the ministry after Pranab</div> <div>Prakash Das (Jajpur) resigned yesterday. Earlier, Atanu S</div> <div>Nayak from Kendrapara district was dropped from the ministry as Health Minister following a fire incident at a private hospital here.</div> <div>&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;The entire southern region of the State comprising</div> <div>Koraput, Malkangiri, Rayagada and Gajapati districts also</div> <div>remained unrepresented in the ministry though Patnaik's home district of Ganjam has four ministers including the CM.</div> <div>&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;Bikram Keshari Arukha, SN Patro and Usha Devi hailed from Ganjam district besides Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik himself. Ganjam, though located on the coast, is considered the entry point to the southern region of the state.</div> <div>&nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp; &nbsp;Surprisingly, small districts like Khurda, Bhadrak and Bargarh have two ministers each while Odisha's biggest district Mayurbhanj remained unrepresented.</div>


Précis 2017
From asking his party men to ‘live a simple life and serve the people’ to taunting the BJP for its ‘crocodile tears’, Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik has not only become politically invincible, he seems to be so in the coming years too.


* India successfully test-fires supersonic interceptor missile


* Support for terrorism to be stopped: India at UN


* Dalmia DSP launches new TV campaign


* Sudhir Mishra's 'Daasdev' set to arrive on February 16


* “Nalco to invest Rs 35,000 cr in Odisha, good governance key to company’s success”


* Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Literary Meet from Jan 11
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.