Sunday, March 29, 2020
 Jeypore police plan to implement STV scheme for better traffic control  Puri Jagannath Temple ‘pandas’ to visit shrines for tips on hygiene, good conduct  

More than 1,800 farmers committed suicide in State between 2005 and 2014

 As many as 1,895 farmers have committed suicide in the State from 2005 to 2014, said Agriculture minister Pradeep Maharathy in reply to a question by Rourkela MLA Dilip Ray in the house today.

The minister added that National Crime Records Bureau data is available on such deaths of agriculture labourers since 2005 till date. As per the data available on NCRB website tabled in the House by the Agriculture Minister, the maximum number of farmers in Odisha allegedly committed suicide in 2006. The figure stands at 283. On the other hand, 2014 had officially recorded 102 farmer suicide cases.

The minister’s reply stated that 254 farmers committed suicide in 2005 while 240 in 2007, 260 in 2008, 154 in 2009, 162 in 2010, 144 in 2011, 146 in 2012 and 150 farmers committed suicide in 2013 across Odisha.

The Minister’s written reply also added that 97 agriculture labourers committed suicide in 2014 as per the NCRB data available while the NCRB data on the suicidal deaths allegedly committed by agriculture labourers are not available on the NCRB website. It has also been stated that data on the farmer suicide deaths in 2015, 2016 and 2017 is not available on the NCRB website.


Précis 2017
From asking his party men to ‘live a simple life and serve the people’ to taunting the BJP for its ‘crocodile tears’, Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik has not only become politically invincible, he seems to be so in the coming years too.


* India successfully test-fires supersonic interceptor missile


* Support for terrorism to be stopped: India at UN


* Dalmia DSP launches new TV campaign


* Sudhir Mishra's 'Daasdev' set to arrive on February 16


* “Nalco to invest Rs 35,000 cr in Odisha, good governance key to company’s success”


* Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Literary Meet from Jan 11
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.