Tuesday, August 4, 2020
 Jeypore police plan to implement STV scheme for better traffic control  Puri Jagannath Temple ‘pandas’ to visit shrines for tips on hygiene, good conduct  

Not many recall State’s leaders role in Constituent Assembly

 Even as India celebrates the 68th Republic Day, none tries to recall the leaders from State who were members of the Constituent Assembly which played a key role in the framing of the Constitution of India.

There were nine from Odisha in the 299 member Constituent Assembly. Ironically history has ignored their contribution.

The leaders included Bichitrananda Das, Biswanath Das, Krushnachandra Gajapati Narayan Deb, Harekrushna Mahatab, Laxminarayan Sahoo, Loknath Mishra, Nanda Kishore Das, Rajkrushna Bose and Shantanu Kumar Das.

As detailed information about the Constituent Assembly and the contribution of Odisha’s leaders in the framing of the Constitution is not precisely mentioned in the courses of studies, the students and youths of today’s era are virtually ignorant about them.

The Constituent Assembly was formed in 1946.

The draft of the constitution was passed by the Constituent Assembly on Nov 26, 1949 after thorough brainstorming and amendments.

The Constitution was implemented on January 26, 1950 and the day is celebrated as Republic Day. There were a total 299 members, including 70 from princely states in the Constituent Assembly headed by Dr Rajendra Prasad. Of these 15 were women, including State’s veteran freedom fighter Malati Choudhury.

Among the others, Rajkumari Amrut Kaur, Bijaylaxmi Pandit, Sarojini Naidu, Renuka Ray, Suchetika Krupalini, Begum Aziz Rasul and Hans Mehetta were members in the Constituent Assembly.

However, Malati Choudhury made history by resigning from the Constituent Assembly to join a padyatra with Mahatma Gandhi to help establish communal harmony in the country.


Précis 2017
From asking his party men to ‘live a simple life and serve the people’ to taunting the BJP for its ‘crocodile tears’, Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik has not only become politically invincible, he seems to be so in the coming years too.


* India successfully test-fires supersonic interceptor missile


* Support for terrorism to be stopped: India at UN


* Dalmia DSP launches new TV campaign


* Sudhir Mishra's 'Daasdev' set to arrive on February 16


* “Nalco to invest Rs 35,000 cr in Odisha, good governance key to company’s success”


* Tata Steel Bhubaneswar Literary Meet from Jan 11
Powered by Catalyst IT Solutions Pvt. Ltd.